General Meade by Robert Kofman

General Meade by Robert KofmanWhen Robert E. Lee invades Pennsylvania President Lincoln turns to the Old Snapping Turtle, General George Meade-a courageous man with remarkable integrity and a fiery temper-to save the Union. Meade confronts Lee's troops at Gettysburg, resulting in the bloodiest and most dramatic battle of the war. After Meade delivers a stunning victory he’s heralded as a hero, the first man to defeat Lee. But for Meade, the battle is far from over. He falls victim to a nefarious smear campaign that threatens to ruin his reputation and his career. Meade is viciously attacked in the press and subjected to Congressional investigation by the infamous Committee on the Conduct of the War. Meade continues leading the Army of the Potomac and serving his superiors: U. S. Grant and Abraham Lincoln. General Meade, A Novel of The Civil War is a winner of a Ben Franklin Book Award for historical fiction.

7

Categories: Print book

The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman by Julietta Henderson

The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman by Julietta HendersonEnter to win 1 of 25 Advanced Reader Copies of The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman by Julietta Henderson!

A triumphant and touching debut about the unlikeliest superstar you’ll ever meet.

Twelve-year-old Norman Foreman and his best friend, Jax, are a legendary comedic duo in waiting, with a plan to take their act all the way to the Edinburgh Fringe. But when Jax dies, Norman decides the only fitting tribute is to perform at the festival himself. The problem is, Norman’s not the funny one. Jax was.

There’s also another, far more colossal objective on Norman’s new plan that his single mom, Sadie, wasn’t ready for: he wants to find the father he’s never known. Determined to put a smile back on her boy’s face, Sadie resolves to face up to her own messy past, get Norman to the Fringe and help track down a man whose identity is a mystery, even to her.

Julietta Henderson’s delightfully charming, tender and uplifting debut takes us on a road trip with a mother and son who will live in the reader’s heart for a long time to come, and teaches us that—no matter the odds—we must always reach for the stars.

Categories
Coming of Age Fiction, Literary Fiction, Humorous Fiction, Women's Fiction

PLEASE NO PO BOXES

9

Categories: Print book

LIVING A LIFE OF BLISS by Arlene Wright

LIVING A LIFE OF BLISS by Arlene WrightEnter for a chance to win one of 100 copies of first edition Living a Life of Bliss-find your soul purpose, find your bliss by Dr. Arlene Wright.
As a result of reading this book, individuals will have a clear blissful path to financial abundance, self-fulfillment and great joy in their lives.

9

Categories: Kindle book

The Sunset Route by Carrot Quinn

The Sunset Route by Carrot QuinnEnter for a chance to win a copy of THE SUNSET ROUTE, a propulsive memoir for fans of Wild and Educated!

After a childhood marked by neglect, poverty, and periods of homelessness, and raised by a mother who believed herself to be the reincarnation of the Virgin Mary, Carrot Quinn moved out on her own. She found a sense of belonging among straight-edge anarchists who taught her how to traverse the country by freight trains, sleep in fields under the stars, and feed herself by foraging in dumpsters. Her new life was one of thrilling adventure and freedom, but still, she was haunted by the ghosts of her lonely and traumatic childhood.

The Sunset Route is a powerful and brazenly honest adventure memoir set in the unseen corners of the United States--in the Alaskan cold, on trains rattling through forests and deserts, as well as in low-income apartments and crowded punk houses--following a remarkable protagonist who has witnessed more tragedy than she thought she could ever endure and who must learn to heal her own heart. Ultimately, it is a meditation on the natural world as a spiritual anchor, and on the ways that forgiveness can set us free.

1

Categories: Print book

The Dragon From Guangzhou by D.W. Plato

The Dragon From Guangzhou by D.W. PlatoIn her best book yet, D.W. Plato weaves an unforgettable tale of how one woman's strength leaves us inspired and thinking long after turning the last page. Enter now to win an autographed copy of The Dragon From Guangzhou.
During the Qing Dynasty in 1801, pirates kidnapped Mógū from a floating brothel off the shore of Guangzhou. So began one of the most notorious adventurers to take on the waters of South China.
Mógū's rough start as a discarded daughter raised by nuns worsened after puberty when she was sold to work on a flower boat. Shrewd and determined to come out on top of each bad situation, Mógū prospers from a golden opportunity with the pirates who kidnap her. Quickly adapting to sword fighting and collecting riches, she shows Zheng Yi and Po Tsai more lucrative ways to live.
Over miles of open ocean, plundering Portuguese and British fleets, through love and loss, Mógū rises to each challenge with surprising grit. Negotiating amnesty for her band of outlaws, she seeks a place of her own for peace and happiness.

4

Categories: Print book

The Other Emily by Dean Koontz

The Other Emily by Dean KoontzNumber one New York Times bestselling master of suspense Dean Koontz takes readers on a twisting journey of lost love, impossible second chances, and terrifying promises.

A decade ago, Emily Carlino vanished after her car broke down on a California highway. She was presumed to be one of serial killer Ronny Lee Jessup’s victims whose remains were never found.

Writer David Thorne still hasn’t recovered from losing the love of his life, or from the guilt of not being there to save her. Since then, he’s sought closure any way he can. He even visits regularly with Jessup in prison, desperate for answers about Emily’s final hours so he may finally lay her body to rest. Then David meets Maddison Sutton, beguiling, playful, and keenly aware of all David has lost. But what really takes his breath away is that everything about Maddison, down to her kisses, is just like Emily. As the fantastic becomes credible, David’s obsession grows, Maddison’s mysterious past deepens—and terror escalates.

Is she Emily? Or an irresistible dead ringer? Either way, the ultimate question is the same: What game is she playing? Whatever the risk in finding out, David’s willing to take it for this precious second chance. It’s been ten years since he’s felt this inspired, this hopeful, this much in love…and he’s afraid.

9

Categories: Kindle book